Types of Power Sharing in India

India mainly has two types of power sharing:

1) Among various organs of the government. The various organs of the government:

  • Legislature
  • Executive
  • Judiciary
  • It is known as the horizontal distribution because all the three organs are placed at the same level. They all have equal importance in the governance of the country.
  • The power sharing is based on the system of checks and balance. If one organ of the government neglects its duties, the other one steps in.
  • Each organ checks the other. If the executive does not function its responsibilities, the legislature can remove it.

2) Among government at different levels. The different levels of government:

  • Union Government
  • State Government
  • Local Government
  • This is known as vertical distribution because power is distributed amongst different levels of the government.
  • The first level is known as the union government which is for the entire country.
  • The second level is known as state government; it is only for the states in India.
  • The third level of the government is known as the local/panchayat government, it is for the local level.
  • The central government delegates its powers to the state governments and they in turn delegate it to the smaller governing bodies and institutions.


  • In India the citizens can come together to debate and criticise the policies and decisions of the government. This in turn puts pressure on the govt. to rethink its policies. This active political participation is in keeping with the moral reason for power sharing.
  • An intelligent sharing of power among legislature, executive and judiciary is very important to the design of a democracy.


  • It leads to a feeling between citizens that the sharing of power leads to division of power which makes a country weaker than it would be if power rested in one hand.
  • It also leads to misunderstanding between the council of various organs.
  • It also sometimes leads to conflict between two states, two districts or even two cities or locality.


  • Power sharing is a vital step for the very foundation of a democracy.
  • Emphasizing on sharing the power is a good way to avoid social conflicts.
  • India mainly has two types of power sharing:
  1. Among various organs of the government.
  2. Among various levels of the government.