International Law and form the European

“A day will come when all the nations of this continent, without losing their distinct qualities or their glorious individuality, will fuse together in a higher unity and form the European brotherhood. A day will come when the only battlefield will be the marketplace for competing ideas. A day will come when bullets and bombs will be replaced by votes”. (Victor Hugo)

Victor uttered these words in 1849 but this dream adopted the shape of reality almost after a centaury and today there are numerous regional organizations and confederations in the world designed to promote peace, economic cooperation, security of the member countries and several other reasons. We can name various organizations like the Arab League, The Organization of American States, The Organizations of African Unity, and The Association of Southeast Asian Nations but, the European Union stands ahead among all the regional organization. After bloody Second World War, the European countries realized the need of peace and cooperation.

Robert Schuman, Konrad Adenauer, Alcide de Gasperi and Winston Churchill tried to bridge the gap between the countries that had fought with each other in the IInd World War. At last in the year 1950, Robert Schuman suggested to structure the European Coal and Steel community (ECSC). The 6 founder nations include Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Belgium, France, and Holland. Soon after the establishment of EU, Europe moved into in a new era in which all member nations can share their interest and assure the equality and application of law in all nations. Administration of Union

The administrative setup of the EU is quite simple as compared to the other organizations. Three decision making bodies of EU include,   The Council of Ministers of the European Union  The European Parliament    The European Commission Treaties The Treaties are called as ‘primary’ legislation, are the prime basis for a huge body of ‘secondary’ legislation which has a direct affect on the daily lives of European Union nationals. The secondary legislation comprises primarily of regulations, directives and recommendations followed by the European Unions establishments.

Nonetheless, these laws, along with European Union laws and policies in general sense, are the outcome of decisions taken by the institutional triangle which established for the Council representing national governments, the European Parliament standing for the people and the European Commission a body independent of European Union governments that preserves the communal European interest. Council of European Union “The Council of the European Union also known as the Council of Ministers is the EU’s main decision-making body.

The EU member states take it in turns to hold the Council Presidency for a six-month period. Every Council meeting is attended by one minister from each EU country. Which ministers attend a meeting depends on which topic is on the agenda: foreign affairs, agriculture, industry, transport, the environment, etc. The Council has legislative power, which it shares with the European Parliament under the ‘co-decision procedure’. In addition to this, the Council and the Parliament share equal responsibility for adopting the EU budget.

The Council also concludes international agreements that have been negotiated by the Commission”. (The EU at a glance – Europe in 12 lessons – How does the EU work? ) The Council has to take its final decisions according to treaties either by a “simple majority vote”, a “qualified majority vote” or unanimously, depending upon the subject to be determined. The Council has to accord unanimously on significant questions like amending and alterations in the Treaties, establishing a new common policy or approving a new nation to join the EU.

In most cases, qualified majority voting is used for selections of country. This means that a Council decision is followed if an assigned minimum number of votes are cast in its favor. The number of votes apportioned to each European Union nation more or less reflects the size of its population The EC gathers, in principle, four times per annum. It is chaired by the president or prime minister of the nation having the presidency of the Council of the EU at the time.

The President of the European Commission takes part as a full member. However, under the “Treaty of Maastricht”, the EC formally became an initiator of the Union’s main policies and was authorized to settle complex matters on which ministers meeting in the Council of the European Union fail to correspond. The European Council also handles pressing international concerns through the common foreign and security policy (CFSP), which is meant to permit the European Union to speak with one voice on diplomatic queries.