Government in U.S

Las Vegas (Nevada), city is in the southern Nevada. The seat of Clark County, Las Vegas is located in the Las Vegas valley, a desert surrounded by the Spring Mountains to the west, Frenchman Mountain to the east, the sheep and Las Vegas ranges to the north and McCullough Range to the south. Las Vegas serves as the centre of one of the fastest-growing metropolitan areas in the United States. Its population has multiplied by a factor of 30 since the 1940s – more than that of any other major American city.

Las Vegas is renowned for tourism, gaming, a dry and vigorous climate, and an assortment of indoor and outdoor recreation activities. The city is also booming in manufacturing and industrial employment, in the construction of new houses, and in the creation of new services jobs (Helen and Ladd, 1998). Las Vegas and its metropolitan area The city of Las Vegas covers a land area of 215. 2 sq km. in addition to Las Vegas; the city’s metropolitan region includes North Las Vegas, Boulder City, Henderson, Mesquite, and a large number of unincorporated communities.

The downtown area of Las Vegas, known as Glitter Gulch, is characterized by long-established casinos. It is the site of the Fremont Street Experience; a renovation project completed in 1995, designed to revitalized the downtown area and attract more people to the street’s casinos. Covering a five-block stretch of Fremont Street, this section is a covered pedestrian mall where thousands of lights play out animated scenes overhead. In addition to the casinos and attractions down town, more are located on the Strip, a 6 km neon-lined portion of Las Vegas Boulevard, located slightly south of downtown.

Some of the extravagant casinos on the Strip play on epic Hollywood themes, such as the Treasure Island Casino, while others advertise attractions, such as an Egyptian pyramid, a medieval castle, or an erupting volcano. Ever-grander casinos open each year, attracting patrons with such draws as replicas of New York City landmarks or roller-coasters atop tall towers. Outside the city lies Hoover Dam, a massive concrete dam that was completed in 1936 as part of federally funded water works project. (Dodds, 1930)

The Las Vegas metropolitan area includes the Las Vegas Valley, a 1600 sq km basin, and surrounding areas that are part of Clark County in southern Nevada. The area contains the largest concentration of people in the state. The history of the Las Vegas metropolitan area largely coincides with the history of the city of Las Vegas. The metropolitan area is fastest growing one in the nation with a population rise of near 25% from 2000 to 2006, and current population of approximately 1. 8 million (Herman, 1921). Government The City of Las Vegas government operates as a council-manager government.

The Mayor sits as a Council member-at-large and presides over all the City Council meetings. In the event that the Mayor can not preside over a City Council meeting, the Mayor Pro-Tem is the presiding officer of the meeting until such time as the Mayor returns to his seat. The City Manager is responsible for the administration and the day-to-day operation of all the municipal services and city departments. The city manager also maintains intergovernmental relationships with federal, states, county and other local governments.

A large number of the people who live in this city actually reside in neighboring incorporated cities or unincorporated communities. Of the approximately 1. 8 million people who live in the Las Vegas Valley, approximately 600,000 actually live inside Las Vegas city limits. Approximately 700,000 people live in unincorporated areas governed by Clark County, and another 465,0000 live in incorporated cities such as North Las Vegas, Henderson and Boulder City (July 1, 2006 Population Estimates: United States Census Bureau.

July 1, 2006. Retrieved on November, 22-2007). The metropolitan area shares a police department. The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department provides most law enforcement services in the city and surrounding county after a 1975merger of the Las Vegas Police Department and the Clark County Sheriff’s Department. Incorporated cities in Clark County, as well as colleges, parks and schools have their own police departments that fall outside of Metro’s jurisdiction. City council members include; Oscar B.

Goodman- Mayor and Council member at Large (Whose term Expires in 2011) Gary Reese- Mayor Pro-Tem and 3rd Ward Council member (Whose term expires in 2011) Lois Tarkanian- 1st Ward Council member (Whose term expires in 2011) Steve Wolfson, Esq. – 2nd Ward Council Member (Whose term expires in 20009) Larry Brown- 4th Ward Council member (Whose term expires in 2009) Ricki Barlow- 5th Ward Council member (Whose term expires in 2011) Steve Ross- 6th Ward Council member (Whose term expires in 2009) City management members include; Douglas Selby – City Manager

Barbara Jo (Roni) Ronemus – City Clerk Local political issues in Las Vegas Las Vegas has a council-manager system of government, consisting of a mayor, four city council members, and a city manager. The mayor is elected by the population of the entire city, while each of the city’s four wards elects one council member. The mayor and council appoint the city manger, who is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the city government (Online Directory: Nevada, USA: Sister Cities International, Inc. Retrieved on November, 22-2007).