Criminal procedure (courts jurisdiction)

Exercise original jurisdiction over cases affecting ambassadors, other public ministers and consuls. Exercise original jurisdiction over petitions for certiorari, prohibition, mandamus, quo warranto, and habeas corpus It shall exercise exclusive original jurisdiction to issue writs of mandamus, prohibition, certiorari, habeas corpus, and quo warranto, and auxiliary writs and processes, whether or not in aid of its appellate jurisdiction.

Its power over petitions for certiorari, prohibition, and mandamus extends to courts or quasi-judicial agencies, boards, instrumentalities, or commissions over which it has exclusive appellate jurisdiction and all other courts and quasi-judicial agencies, not falling under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Supreme Court. Under EO 1,2,14, and 14-A (RA 7975 Sec. 2, RA 8249), the Marcos ill-gotten wealth cases, the Sandiganbayan has concurrent original jurisdiction with the Supreme Court in the: 1. special civil actions of certiorari, prohibition, mandamus, and quo warranto, 2.

the special proceeding of habeas corpus, and 3. provisional remedies of injunction and ancillary writs in aid of its appellate jurisdiction. In the issuance of writs of certiorari, prohibition, mandamus, quo warranto, habeas corpus and injunction which may be enforced in any part of their respective regions. In actions affecting ambassadors and other public ministers and consuls Original – Exclusive Petitions for certiorari, prohibition, mandamus, quo warranto, and habeas corpus against court of appeals and sandiganbayan. Actions for annulment of judgment of the RTCs.

1. Violation of RA 3019 (Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices), RA 1379 (unlawfully acquired property), and the Revised Penal Code (Book II, Title VII, Chapter II, Section 2), and, 2. Other offenses committed by public employees (and government-owned or controlled corporations) in relation to their office and private individuals charged with them, where one of the accused is an official occupying the following positions (permanent or interim) at the time of the commission of the offense: 2a. Officials of the executive branch classified as Grade 27 or higher; 2b.

Members of the Judiciary 2c. Members of the Constitutional Commissions 2d. Members of Congress 2e. All other national and local officials classified as Grade 27 or higher. 3. Civil and criminal cases filed under EO 1,2,14, and 14-A (RA 7975 Sec. 2, RA 8249) 1. Criminal cases not within the exceeding jurisdiction of any court, tribunal or body, except those now falling under the exclusive and concurrent jurisdiction of the Sandiganbayan; 2. Offenses the imposable penalty for which exceeds 6 years imprisonment; 3.

In cases where the only penalty is fine, the amount thereof shall determine jurisdiction. If the amount exceeds P4,000, RTCs have jurisdiction; 4. Criminal Cases under specific laws: a. Written Defamation; b. Jurisdiction of designated courts over cases in violation of the of the Comprehensive Dangerous Act of 2002 as provided in Sec. 90 thereof; c. Violation of intellectual property rights. d. Criminal action or proceedings for Violation of the Omnibus election code 5. All cases on money laundering except those falling under the jurisdiction of the Sandiganbayan. FAMILY COURT – Criminal Cases where: a.

One or more of the accused is/are below 18 years of age but not less than nine years of age; or b. Where one of the victims is minor at the time of the commission of the offense; c. Cases against cognizable under Dangerous Drugs Act; d. Violations of RA 7610, otherwise known as the “Special Protection of children Against child abuse, Exploitation and Discrimination Act” as amended by RA 7658; and e. Cases of domestic violence against women and children. Except in Cases falling within the exclusive jurisdiction of the RTC and of the Sandiganbayan.

1. Offenses Punishable with imprisonment NOT exceeding six (6) years irrespective of the amount of fine, and regardless of imposable accessory or other penalties, including the civl liability arising from such offenses or predicated thereon, irrespective of kind, nature, value or amount thereof; 2. Where the only penalty provided for by law is a fine, amount thereof shall determine the jurisdiction of the court. The MTC shall have exclusive original jurisdiction over offenses punishable with a fine of not more than P4,000 (Adm. Cir. 09-94). 3.

Offenses involving damage to property through criminal negligence. 4. Those covered by the rules in summary procedure: a. Violation of traffic laws, rules and regulations; b. Violation of the rental law; c. Violation of municipal or city ordinances; d. Violation of BP 22; e. All other criminal cases where the penalty is imprisonment not exceeding 6 months and/or P1,000 fine irrespective of other penalties or civil liabilities arising therefrom and in offenses involving damages to property through criminal negligence where the imposable fine is not exceeding P10,000. f.

Offenses involving damage to property through criminal negligence where the imposable fine does not exceed P10,000. Exclusive – Appellate BY APPEAL a. From the Regional Trial Court: (a. a) in all criminal cases involving offenses for which the penalty is reclusion perpetua or life imprisonment; (a. b) those involving other offenses which, although not so punished, arose out of the same occurrence or which may have been committed by the accused on the same occasion. b. Automatic review in criminal cases where the death penalty is imposed. BY PETITION FOR REVIEW ON CERTIORARI a.

From the Court of Appeals; b. From the Sandiganbayan; and c. From the Regional Trial Court where only an error or question of law is involved EXCLUSIVE appellate jurisdiction over all final judgments, decisions, resolutions, orders or awards of RTCs and quasi-judicial agencies, bodies, or commissions, BY APPEAL a. From the Regional Trial Court in cases under P. D. 1606 (as amended by P. D. 1861) whether or not the cases were decided by them in the exercise of their original or appellate jurisdictions over all cases decided by the lower courts (MTCs) in their respective territorial jurisdictions.